Skip to content

Silken Scrambled Eggs

June 22, 2010

Scrambled eggs have always been one of those dishes that I felt comfortable making myself, even from a relatively young age. Because of this it has been ripe for experimentation, and I scramble some eggs for dinner or to add some body to a marinara sauce. They can be served over rice, but I generally eat them alone. I don’t believe in melting cheese into scrambled eggs, it never appealed to me and the texture and flavor of the cheese has always ruined the eggs for me. I like my eggs to stand by themselves, and with this recipe, they do. I sometimes will grind some pepper over them, but mostly I just like the silken smoothness, the marbleized yellow and white, of this essential breakfast.

These eggs have a few tricks. For one, I like to make them with heavy whipping cream. Most use milk, but milk tends to result in an unappealing wateriness that is avoided with the cream. Cream also binds with the eggs better, producing beautiful veins of white. And the taste is second to none. I eyeball the cream content, but for the sake of the recipe we will say three tablespoons is enough.

I also tend to buy very good eggs, the taste difference from store brand is far greater than the price. When you crack the egg, the yolk should be orange, not yellow, and stick together well.

The timing on the eggs is all about feel. I scramble them constantly with close attention, and they are done in a few minutes. I tend to take mine off the burner just as the liquid solidifies, but wait too long and they will be dry. You just have to feel it out.

Alicia tells me these eggs stole her heart. For such a basic recipe, they really can be memorable. She asks me to make them often.

Silken Scrambled Eggs

serves two

  • 1/2 tablespoon butter (I use Smart Balance buttery spread)
  • five eggs
  • 3 tablespoons heavy cream
  1. Put a large skillet on the stove with medium-high heat. Melt the butter all over the skillet.
  2. Crack the eggs into a medium bowl, then add the cream. Beat with a fork until yolks are mixed and mixture takes on a pale yellowish color. Do not beat too much, or they will toughen. You do not want cafeteria eggs!
  3. Pour the egg mixture onto the medium-hot skillet.
  4. Scramble with a rubber spatula by pushing from the sides to the middle, working around the skillet. Tilt the skillet to allow the egg mixture to flow to the other side from time to time.
  5. Continue scrambling until the eggs form in the center. Take them off the burner when they are glistening, but not liquid. Take the eggs of the burner quickly and serve onto plates.
Leave a Reply

