Skip to content

Pepperoni Mushroom Pizza Pie

July 1, 2010
by

I hate delivery pizza. I literally went for several years without any pizza, and didn’t feel deprived in the least. This was until Wilson and I started making pizza at home. Now I eat pizza about once a week. I absolutely love it. And it’s a totally different beast when it’s homemade. Pizza at home is quick, but in my mind should never be regarded as “fast food.”  When it’s done well, it’s absolutely mouthwatering and comforting.

You will notice that this pizza has pepperoni on it. Pepperoni can take at least partial credit for forcing me to emerge from vegetarianism. About a year and a half ago, I was walking along Maine Street in Brunswick with some friends. All of a sudden, I said, “Oh my God, what is that delicious smell?” One of them gave me a funny look and responded, “Alicia, that’s pepperoni! Aren’t you a vegetarian?” I looked to my right, saw the Dominos, and laughed hysterically. I think I started eating meat about a month later. If the smell of pepperoni cooking makes your mouth water, vegetarianism really isn’t in the cards.

This pizza may not seem terribly original, but I assure you, the flavors speak for themselves. My parents used to always order delivery pepperoni mushroom pizzas. This is the real deal and has become a favorite for us. A common thing we do with our pizzas is to grate Pecorino Romano or Parmigiano Reggiano over the top once it has cooled slightly. The taste is phenomenal and the look of a dusting of cheese is so inviting. Definitely make this pizza at home – it’s really worth it!

Real Pepperoni Mushroom Pizza

  • pizza dough
  • pizza or tomato sauce
  • fresh mozzarella cheese, sliced
  • pepperonis
  • sliced button mushrooms
  • hard cheese, like Pecorino Romano or Parmigiano Reggiano

Preheat the oven to 450°.

Roll out the dough on a baking sheet or pizza stone to the thickness you like.  (We like thin)

Spread the tomato sauce on the dough, leaving about an inch border on the outside sauce-free.

Place the sliced mozzarella evenly over the pizza.

Add plenty of mushrooms (they shrink when they cook) and lots of pepperoni, distributing the toppings evenly

Bake in the middle of the oven for 15-20 minutes. You will have to check periodically, since the thickness of the dough varies the time needed for baking. The pizza is finished when the crust is brown and your pizza is bubbling.

Allow the pizza to cool  for a few minutes and then grate the hard cheese generously over the top. Cut and enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    July 26, 2011 8:19 pm

    I want this now!!!

Leave a Reply

